Winter Sports COVID Protocols & Ticketing

Subject Line: Winter Sports COVID Protocols & Ticketing Information

Updated Ticketing Policy

USD 305 Winter Sports Start on Time but No Spectators from Dec. 1 to Jan. 28, per Kansas State High School Activities Association

For both middle and high school sports, USD 305 winter practices and competitions are starting as scheduled. However, as approved by the KSHSAA Board, there will be no spectators at the beginning of the season.

No-spectator events include fine arts, athletics, performing arts and any event where people gather to observe students’ performance or competition between December 1 – January 28. The district will reassess locally to determine next steps after January 29. 

The winter moratorium will be longer this year, extending from December 23 until after the winter break. Practices can resume on January 4 and competitions on January 8.

USD 305 will continue to work with the Saline County Health Department to monitor community status. Please help us protect education and opportunities for our students by remaining vigilant in practicing safety precautions such as;

•          Wear a mask properly.

•          Wash hands often with soap and water for at least 20 seconds. If not available, use hand sanitizer.

•          Maintain social distancing of six feet.

•          Cover cough or sneeze with a tissue (and throw the tissue in the trash) or upper sleeve.

•          Avoid touching eyes, nose, and mouth with unwashed hands.

•          Clean and disinfect frequently touched objects and surfaces.

•          Stay home while you are sick and avoid contact with others.

STREAMING SERVICES Now Available

South Middle School will  be streaming all of our  home events on our School’s Facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/SalinaSouthMS/ 

If you have questions about a particular winter sport, please go to our athletic website or contact the head coach below:

Sport

Winter Season Start Date

8th Grade Coach

7th Grade Coach

Boys Basketball

Jan. 4, 2021

Brent Conners: brent.conners@usd305.com

John Zamora: john.zamora@usd305.com

Cheerleading

Oct. 19, 2020

Madysen Sowers: madysen.sowers@usd305.com

Girls Basketball

Oct. 19, 2020

Tom Haynes: tom.haynes@usd305.com

Dean Heckethorn: dean.heckethorn@usd305.com

Wrestling

Oct. 19, 2020

Luke Curry: luke.curry@usd305.com